Our recommendations


Lucy Maud Montgomery - Anne of Green Gables

Lucy Maud Montgomery

Anne of Green Gables

Written for all ages, it has been considered a children's novel since the mid-twentieth century. It recounts the adventures of Anne Shirley, an 11-year-old orphan girl who is mistakenly sent to Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert, a middle-aged brother and sister who had intended to adopt a boy to help them on their farm in Prince Edward Island. The novel recounts how Anne makes her way with the Cuthberts, in school, and within the town.

Charles Dickens - Great Expectations

Charles Dickens

Great Expectations

The action of the story takes place from Christmas Eve, 1812, when the protagonist is about seven years old, to the winter of 1840.

Kenneth Grahame - The Wind in the Willows

Kenneth Grahame

The Wind in the Willows

The Wind in the Willows is a children's novel by Kenneth Grahame, first published in 1908. Alternately slow moving and fast paced, it focuses on four anthropomorphised animals in a pastoral version of England. The novel is notable for its mixture of mysticism, adventure, morality, and camaraderie and celebrated for its evocation of the nature of the Thames valley.

Anonymous  - A Night in a Moorish Harem


A Night in a Moorish Harem

A Night in a Moorish Harem is an erotic novella anonymously written and narrated by the main character, Lord George Herbert in 1896. It recounts a night spent by a shipwrecked British sailor in a Moroccan harem with nine concubines of different nationalities. The harem topos is a typical example of the privileged location and also an example of Western literary orientalism.

Emily Bronte - Wuthering Heights

Emily Bronte

Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights is Emily Brontë's only novel. It was first published in 1847 under the pseudonym Ellis Bell, and a posthumous second edition was edited by her sister Charlotte. The name of the novel comes from the Yorkshire manor on the moors on which the story centres (as an adjective, wuthering is a Yorkshire word referring to turbulent weather). The narrative tells the tale of the all-encompassing and passionate, yet thwarted, love between Heathcliff and Catherine Earnshaw, and how this unresolved passion eventually destroys them and many around them.

Fyodor Dostoevsky - The Gambler

Fyodor Dostoevsky

The Gambler

That's our Life? -- The Game The Gambler is a novel about a youngish tutor in the employment of a formerly wealthy Russian civil servant.

F.Scott Fitzgerald - Tender is the Night

F.Scott Fitzgerald

Tender is the Night

The book reveals the detrimental days of Fitzgerald's past as he lives out his last remaining years with his wife, Zelda. The novel almost mirrors the events that take places as characters are pulled and put back into mental care, and the male figure, Dick Diver, starts his descent into alcoholism. While working on the book, several times he ran out of cash and had to borrow from his editor and agent and write short stories for commercial magazines. The early 1930s, when Fitzgerald was conceiving and working on the book, were the darkest years of his life and, accordingly, the novel has its very bleak elements that he experienced himself.

James Fenimore Cooper - The Deerslayer

James Fenimore Cooper

The Deerslayer

First story about Natty Bumppo as "Deerslayer": a young frontiersman in early 18th-century New York, who objects to the practice of taking scalps, on grounds that every living thing should follow "the gifts" of its nature, which would keep European Americans from taking scalps.

Fyodor Dostoevsky - Crime and Punishment

Fyodor Dostoevsky

Crime and Punishment

Crime and Punishment is a novel written by Russian author Fyodor Dostoevsky. First published in a journal named The Russian Messenger, it appeared in twelve monthly installments in 1866, and was later published as a novel. Along with Leo Tolstoy's War and Peace, the novel is considered one of the best-known and most influential Russian novels of all time.